IAS Aroid Quasi Forum

About Aroid-L
 This is a continuously updated archive of the Aroid-L mailing list in a forum format - not an actual Forum. If you want to post, you will still need to register for the Aroid-L mailing list and send your postings by e-mail for moderation in the normal way.

the symptom of overfertilized Amorphophallus?
From: <ju-bo at msn.com> on 2009.06.10 at 09:30:58(19413)
Dear Andras,

I am NOT an expert, but when I used to grow aquatic aroids, they used to suffer "leaf burn'', and I was told that the man-made granular AND some liquid fertilizers which contain ''salts'' were the main cause of this problem.  I was given some liquid fertilizers with a low-salt content, and advised to use them in a weak mix more frequently, and to allow rain to 'flush'' the soil as often as possible, I also used OLD cow manure and WEAK mixes of fish emulsion fertilizer, this certainly improved the leaf burn situation.  Perhaps you need to reduce the amount of fertilizer you use?
I hope that this may work for you.

Good Growing,

Julius

HTML

+More

From: "Sherry Gates" <TheTropix at msn.com> on 2009.06.11 at 15:34:41(19417)
Hi Andras & everyone,

I have learned that rabbit poo is a great fertilizer that isn't considered 'hot' like most manure fertilizers/soil conditioners. I have a couple of rabbits and tried some 'fresh' rabbit poo on a few tomatoe plants. Some were already doing well and some were not. Now they're all doing great. I looked this up to send out to everyone who's interested in the organic fertilizer concept. The hay that falls under the cages (and when I change out the bedding) is great, too. Mulch and fertilizer all in one! I've since used it on everything from veggies to Philodendrons and so on. Hope this helps. Most manures MUST be comoposted well until very dry, but are still good.

Great growing to all,

Sherry

HTML

+More

From: "mossytrail" <mossytrail at hctc.com> on 2009.06.12 at 00:59:31(19419)